Canadian-Cuban Friendship Association Toronto

Home
Monthly View
Monthly View
Flat View
Flat View
Weekly View
Weekly View
Daily View
Daily View
Categories
Categories
Search
Search

Event: 'Webinar- Che Guevara Volunteer Work Brigade & Jose Marti'

Presentation
Date: Sunday, January 31, 2021 At 19:00 PM
Duration: 1 Day
Contact Info:
https://www.canadiannetworkoncuba.ca/brigadeand see info re the coordinator in the message
Email:
URL:

The Che Guevara Volunteer Work Brigade presents:

JOSÉ MARTÍ   Revolutionary, Visionary, Leader

ONLINE WEBINAR

Sunday – 31 January, 2021    4pm PT / 5pm MT / 6pm CT / 7pm ET / 8pm Atlantic

REGISTER ONLINE AT:

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gVFppRLJSUODJtcawFIPwA

José Martí was born on January 28, 1853 and throughout his 42 years became one of Cuba's foremost poets, authors and most importantly a national hero in Cuba's war of independence from Spain. His revolutionary vision inspired future generations of Cuban revolutionaries, including Fidel Castro who in 1953 named José Martí as the “intellectual author” of the Cuban revolutionary movement.

Join an evening of music, poetry and speakers to learn more about José Martí and to mark the 168th anniversary of his birth. This event will also be an opportunity to find out how you can travel to Cuba on the 27th Che Guevara Brigade, April 28 to May 11, 2021!

In light of the new international travel restrictions announced by the Government of Canada, and the state of the Covid-19 pandemic in Canada, the Che Guevara Brigade has made the decision to postpone the Spring 2021 Che Brigade to Cuba.

The Che Guevara Volunteer Work Brigade is a unique and exciting way to experience Cuba, and to practice people-to-people solidarity with Cuba. Although our 27th Che Brigade will not be able to travel on our planned April/May 2021 dates, we look forward to returning to Cuba with even more enthusiasm when it is possible later in 2021! Please stay tuned for our updated dates which will be posted soon.

In the meantime, the Che Guevara Brigade has been organizing online events where we can learn more about Cuba and express our solidarity virtually! This Sunday January 31 the Che Guevara Brigade presents the online webinar “ José Martí: Revolutionary, Visionary, Leader” at 4pm PT / 7pm ET. We invite you to join us for an event featuring speakers, music, poetry and multimedia! The link to register for the webinar via Zoom is https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gVFppRLJSUODJtcawFIPwA

For more information, questions or to receive updates on the Che Guevara Brigade please email or call the Che Brigade coordinator Janine Solanki at chevolbrigade@gmail.com or 778-881-6156.

You can also follow the Che Brigade on social media. We are on Instagram @cdnntwrkoncuba, Facebook at www.facebook.com/CheVolBrigade and on Twitter @CheVolBrigade.

The Che Guevara Brigade looks forward to travelling to Cuba later in 2021 and we hope you will join us!

Program will feature:

>> HER EXCELLENCY JOSEFINA VIDAL - Cuban Ambassador to Canada. Previously, she was president of the Cuban delegation in the first and second rounds of Cuba-U.S. talks, which paved the way for the restoration of diplomatic relations between both countries under Cuban President Raul Castro and American President Barack Obama, as well as the freedom of our 5 Cuban heroes held in U.S. jails, in December 2014.

>> YAMIL MARTÍNEZ MARRERO – Canada Desk of the Cuban Institute of Friendship with the Peoples (ICAP)

>> SANGRE MORENA - Beautiful musical duo bringing beloved Spanish-language songs to life with passionate singing and the fiery sounds of the Flamenco guitar!

>> Poetry of José Martí read by CLAUDIA PERALTA, coordinator of the Canadian-Cuban Friendship Association – Calgary, Che Brigade Committee member and organizer with the Calixto Garcia Brigade

>> JAMES PLEWAK – Former Che Brigade brigadista, Anishinaabe leader and former chief of Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation in Manitoba

>> AZZA ROJBI – Former Che Brigade brigadista, and coordinator of Friends of Cuba Against the U.S. Blockade - Vancouver

>> JANINE SOLANKI – Che Guevara Brigade national coordinator

... and more!

>> Find out more about the 2021 Che Guevara Brigade to Cuba! <<

Visit www.canadiannetworkoncuba.ca/brigade for more information or to register, or contact Che Brigade national coordinator
Janine Solanki at chevolbrigade@gmail.com or 778-881-6156

Organized by the Che Guevara Brigade Committee of the Canadian Network on Cuba (CNC)

Follow the Che Guevara Brigade online!

https://www.canadiannetworkoncuba.ca/brigade

Facebook and Twitter: @CheVolBrigade

Instagram: @cdnntwrkoncuba

The Che Guevara Volunteer Work Brigade is a project of the Canadian Network on Cuba (CNC) and the Cuban Institute of Friendship with the Peoples (ICAP)



Search Calendar


Resources